Chequered flag turns Red as Hendrick European wins Fleet Transport Irish Haulier of the Year 2020


Prominent international and national road transport operator Hendrick European has gained further prominence by winning the overall title Irish Haulier of the Year 2020 in association with Rosslare Europort at the 13th annual Fleet Transport Awards ceremony held at the Citywest Hotel, Dublin on 10 October.

The long established Dublin based family owned company, well known for its distinctive red livery on its trucks and trailers raced to the chequered flag in first place, impressing the adjudication panel with its ethos, enthusiasm and commitment to the road transport industry. In the lead up to the announcement as the top prize winner on the night by compère RTÉ Radio 1’s Shay Byrne, Hendricks also claimed the coveted International Haulier of the Year 2020 title, sponsored by Thermo King.

In the National Haulier of the Year category, Elsatrans Limited (Naas) emerged victorious gaining marks for its operational excellence and environmentally friendly truck fleet policy.

Polar Ice won the Own Account Transport Operator classification, while JS&J Harris Transport Ltd (Kildare) was awarded title winner – Regional Transport Operator of the Year accolade.

The Customer Service Excellence Award went to Ballinrobe based Costello & McDermott Ltd, with another Mayo finalist Aiden McTigue (Shaw Commercials, Castlebar) winning the Technician of the Year.

Ervia, the Dublin headquartered national body was deemed to have the Best Safety Practice, while Pallas Foods were honoured with the Best Van Fleet Award.

Other company related award winners included Provision (Dublin) – Best Innovation for its CameraMatics systems; O’Brien Transport Ltd (Newbawn) for its eye-catching Livery of the Year; BWG Foods (Dublin) – Environment Award for its ongoing fleet alternative fuels investment and Virginia International Transport (Cavan) for its Excellence in Warehousing & Product Handling. The Best On-line Transport Company Award went to ATC Computer Transport & Logistics Ltd (Dublin).

Among the people rewarded on the night at the Gala Dinner attended by over 900 delegates from all sectors of the industry were Eileen Dunne, Dunne Haulage [Kildare] who was a worthy winner of the Women in Transport Award Award, while Denise Ryan [Polar Ice Ltd] was chosen as Transport/Fleet Manager of the Year. the first female to win this coveted award. David Simon Transport  (Sligo) secured the Owner Driver Haulier of the Year award, with Verona Murphy, President of the Irish Road Haulage Association receiving strong applause on being presented with the Services to the Road Transport Industry Award.

A number of companies reaching significant anniversary milestones were also paid tribute to, which was also well received by the audience – Fiat, Opel, Cummins, Citroën, Caffrey International, Westward Scania, Cunningham Covers, DHL, McCulla Ireland, Goggins Transport, McElvaney Motors, W.S. Dennison, ATC Computer Transport & Logistics Ltd, UKIFDA, formerly FPS.

National Haulier of the Year 2020
sponsored by Volvo Trucks


Elsatrans Limited (Kildare)


International Haulier of the Year
sponsored by Thermo King


Hendrick European (Dublin)


Best Van Fleet Award
sponsored by Peugeot
Pallas Foods (Dublin)
Own Account Transport Operator of the Year
sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Commercial Vehicles
Polar Ice Ltd (Laois)

            Owner Driver Haulier of the Year

              sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus


David Simon Transport Ltd (Sligo)



Regional Transport Operator of the Year
sponsored by Applegreen


JS&J Harris Transport Ltd (Kildare)


Best Livery Award
sponsored by ORBCOMM


O’Brien Transport (Newbawn) Ltd (Wexford)



Best Safety Practice Award
sponsored by Health & Safety Authority


Ervia (Dublin)




Innovation Award
sponsored by easytrip


ProVision CameraMatics (Dublin)



Environment Award
sponsored by Gas Networks Ireland


BWG Foods (Dublin)



Fleet/Transport Manager of the Year
sponsored by IVECO in partnership with Emerald Truck & Van
Denise Ryan – Polar Ice Ltd (Laois)
Women in Transport Award
sponsored by


Eileen Dunne – Dunne Haulage (Kildare)



Excellence in Warehousing & Product Handling
sponsored by Combilift


Virginia International Logistics (Cavan)



Customer Service Excellence Award
sponsored by Texoil


Costello & McDermott Ltd (Mayo)



Best On-Line Transport Company of the Year
sponsored by Tranzaura


ATC Computer Transport & Logistics (Dublin)




Technician of the Year
sponsored by Renault Trucks


Aiden McTigue – Shaw Commercials (Mayo)



Services to the Transport Industry Award
sponsored by Close Brothers Commercial Finance

Verona Murphy, President, Irish Road Haulage Association