New International Trailer Award emerges from the Trailer Innovation Award

The international jury of the long standing Trailer Innovation Award has given the renowned transport industry competition a new, contemporary name: The awards programme is now called the International Trailer Award (ITA).

It is now more than 20 years since former Stünings publishing director Jörg Montag, together with trailer specialist Folkher Braun, launched a trailer sector roll of honour – the Trailer Innovation Awards, primarily rewarding the European trailer and body industry.

“At last, innovations relating to commercial vehicle trailers were given the recognition they deserved,” stated Jörg at the time.

This initiative appealed to the German Transport body, the VDA (Verband der Automobilindustrie), which supported the new initiative from the outset. Since then, the awards ceremony has become a fixed part of the programme of events during the VDA’s IAA Commercial Vehicles/Transportation exhibitions, held every other year at Messe Hannover.

Back then an expert judging panel was formed from a group of leading trade journalists from various European commercial vehicle magazines, which has since then awarded prizes every two years to the best solutions of all types and sizes from the trailer sector. The only requirement

for manufacturers to enter the competition: The innovation must deal with the trailer, semi-trailer or body – not the actual truck.

Now, 21 years after Trailer Innovation was established, the jury decided to give the important industry competition a new name with a stronger international focus. To become even more global, commercial vehicles from the United States (1Truck America) and South Africa (Focus on Transport) are now also part of the jury.

The current jury of experts for the International Trailer Award (ITA) consists of the following journalists and magazines:

Edwin van der Veer (Auto- en Transportwereld | Netherlands), Jarlath Sweeney (Fleet Transport Magazine | Ireland), Akin Öcal (KASA | Turkey), Snejina Badjeva (Kamioni | Bulgaria), Rolf Grob (Mobilität | Switzerland), Boštjan Paušer (REVIJA TRANSPORT & LOGISTIKA | Slovenia), Dariusz Piernikarski (Samochody Specjalne | Poland), Christoph Kölbel (1Truck America | USA), Florian Engel (1TRUCK MEDIA | Austria), Hendrik De Spiegelaere (Transporama | Belgium), Marilena Matei (Tranzit | Romania), Gianenrico Gri  ini (Allestimenti & Trasporti | Italy), Philipp Bönders (Truck & Trailer Welt | Germany), Stephan Jansen (Trailer Welt | Germany), Seppo Alaruikka (Auto, tekniikka ja kuljetus | Finland) and Charleen Clarke (Focus on Transport l South Africa).

The next round of the International Trailer Award has begun with international manufacturers of trailers, semi-trailers and commercial vehicle bodies, as well as trailer components, applying for  the prestigious competition, which has a number of categories.

The award ceremony will take at the IAA Transportation 2024, Hannover Messe, on Tuesday 17 September.